For the safety and well-being of participants and instructors, some of our partnering training sites have decided to cancel in-person 55+ (8-hour and 4-hour) Defensive Driver Training. Continue to check back as in-person class schedules will change due to the COVID-19 event.
Seasoned Driver Training Programs
Improve your driving skills, and if you're 55 or older, get a discount on your personal auto insurance. The Defensive Driving Course, developed by the National Safety Council, teaches basic crash prevention techniques and has a proven record of reducing traffic violations and incidents. It's taught by experienced, professional traffic safety instructors, including officers of the Minnesota State Patrol. The class consists of lecture, films and discussions. There is no behind-the-wheel driving and there are no tests.
According to Minnesota state law, people age 55 and older who complete a state approved defensive driving course are eligible to receive a 10 percent, three-year discount on auto insurance. This includes both classroom and online training options. Contact your insurance agent for details. After you complete the course, you will receive a certificate of completion to give to your insurance company.
8-Hour Initial Courses - Classroom and Online
We offer an 8-hour course (offered over two days, four hours each day) as well as a 4-hour refresher for those who have already taken an 8-hour course. Pre-registration is required. See course schedules for contact phone numbers.
8-Hour Classroom Schedules
8-Hour Course Schedule By Date
8-Hour Online Course
4-Hour Refresher Courses - Classroom and Online
If you have successfully completed a state approved eight-hour defensive driving course you are eligible to take a four-hour defensive driving course to renew your insurance certificate.
4-Hour Classroom Schedules by Date
4-Hour Online Course